Just as with your house, WordPress requires a little housekeeping once in a while to keep it working right. Here is a list of things you should do on a regularly scheduled basis to keep your WordPress site running smoothly. If a new release of WordPress is out, we recommend that you upgrade. These new releases often include new and improved features and fixes. It is recommended to check in with WordPress for updates and upgrades at least every three months, six months at the most. Check WordPress. Plugins are an exciting feature of WordPress. They add functions and features to your WordPress site such as adding customized post listings to featuring a local weather forecast on your site.
Method #1 – Deleting a theme via WordPress admin
When Not to Delete a WordPress Theme
This article explains how to deactivate, change or delete themes and plugins on a WordPress site with or without the dashboard. Being able to disable plugins outside of the dashboard may be helpful if you have a plugin or theme that has malfunctioned and caused you to lose access to the dashboard. Note: Some of these steps will require you to know the name of your WordPress database. Note: This will deactivate all plugins; however, it does not remove the plugin or its settings. You should get a page indicating that the query was executed. You are finished.
Method #2 – Deleting a theme via FTP or SFTP
Soon your WordPress installation looks like a Theme Shop. Make sure the theme you want to remove is not your current Active theme. If it is, then make another theme active. In this example, the Focusblog theme is Active. WordPress always puts the Active theme first in your list and labels it.
In theory, uninstalling a theme vs deleting it should be the same thing. In both cases, the code files for the theme will be deleted from the server. In both cases, any data should also be deleted. But in some cases, simply uninstalling a theme might not remove all of the related content. It also pays to understand the difference between deleting or uninstalling a theme vs deactivating it. A theme is deactivated if you activate another theme instead. This is because only one theme can be active on a site. So when you deactivate the current theme by activating a new theme instead, the new theme becomes active but nothing from the old theme is removed from the system. Any settings you configured are kept in the database in case you should activate the theme again which saves you having to do the work again. Any widgets you added to widget areas in your theme are saved but moved to the Inactive Widgets section of the Widgets screen.